Whether you are lactose intolerant, have an allergy to lactose and casein or are looking to remove dairy from your lifestyle due to inflammation, it’s a good start to know what products contain traces of dairy and what the difference is between dairy-free and lactose-free.  Casein is the protein found in milk and cheese; lactose is the sugar found in milk. Many people are allergic to casein, which can be determined through blood work.

Here is a List of What To Eat and What To Avoid When Following a Dairy-Free Lifestyle

Non-Dairy Milk Alternatives

  • Coconut Milk
  • Almond Milk
  • Hemp Milk
  • Flax Milk
  • Oat Milk

Non-Dairy Ice Cream Alternatives (Brand names are listed below)

  • Coconut Milk Ice Cream
  • Almond Milk Ice Cream
  • Rice Milk Ice Cream

Non-Dairy Yogurt

  • So Delicious Coconut Greek Yogurt



  • Silken (Use in place of milk in a smoothie, pudding or custard-based dessert)
  • Firm (Use in place of eggs for scrambled eggs)
  • Extra Firm (Use in place of meat in recipes)

Mayonnaise Alternative

Cheese Alternative

  • Nutritional Yeast (Use in place of cheese in recipes; good for vegetarians or vegans because this yeast has high levels of B Vitamins, which are only found in animal products)



  • Use separate knives, cutting boards and serving utensils for dairy-free foods such as butter and cream cheese
  • Use separate appliances such as food processors and blenders where cross contamination may be present
  • Store dairy-free foods in clearly market, sealed containers to differentiate from foods that contain dairy

Dairy-Free & Gluten-Free Brands My Clients Enjoy

It is essential to work with a nutritionist and an Integrative M.D. because I am sharing general information that is not intended to be medical advice. This information is only given for informational purposes.


Share on FacebookPin on PinterestEmail to someoneTweet about this on TwitterGoogle+