Corn is hidden in many things other than corn tortilla chips, popcorn and cereals and may be harmful to some people that have celiac disease or cannot tolerate gluten. Corn and gluten sensitivities tend to overlap in their symptoms when it comes to our health issues.  For those who cannot eat gluten, like oats, there is a risk of cross-contamination of gluten into the corn crop. Therefore, corn and gluten-free go hand n’ hand for many of us. So many processed foods in our society contain GMO corn and deplete our gut (stomach) of good bacteria whose job is to help our keep us healthy and aid in digestion. Throughout the past few years, there has sadly been a rise in GMO corn which our bodies cannot digest and process completely. Corn is used in a host of processed foods and corn allergies/sensitivities are hard to diagnose. Working with an Integrative M.D. through an elimination diet may be your best way to know if you are reacting to corn.

Here are a few ingredients, foods and supplies to avoid when living a corn-free lifestyle.

  • Corn flour
  • Corn fritters
  • Corn oil
  • Corn meal
  • Corn puffs cereal
  • Corn starch
  • Corn sugar
  • Corn chips
  • Corn gluten
  • Corn extract
  • Corn flakes
  • Corn syrup
  • Corn syrup solids
  • Corn
  • Popcorn
  • Corn meal
  • Corn alcohol
  • Cornstarch
  • Corn flour
  • Corn tortillas
  • Corn sweetener
  • Grits
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Hominy
  • Hydrolyzed corn
  • Hydrolyzed corn protein
  • Maize
  • Modified corn starch
  • Polenta
  • Tamales
  • Taco shells
  • Vegetable oil
  • Zea mays
  • Zein

These Items May Contain Corn from Corn & Vegetable Oils, Corn Starch and Corn Syrup:

  • Commercial soups
  • Peanut butter
  • Cold cuts and deli meats
  • Ham
  • Hotdogs
  • Sausages
  • Breaded or fried foods
  • Cheese
  • Chili
  • Chop suey
  • Chow mein
  • Cheese spreads
  • Fish sticks
  • Frozen vegetables
  • Canned vegetables
  • Succotash
  • Pork and beans
  • Creamed vegetables
  • Bread
  • Graham crackers
  • Baking mixes
  • Pancakes
  • Pancake syrup
  • English muffins
  • Gravy
  • Salad dressing
  • Canned fruit
  • Frozen fruit
  • Dates
  • Ice cream
  • Sherbet
  • Chocolate milk
  • Milk shakes
  • Soy milks
  • Eggnog
  • Whiskey, beer, American wines and ale
  • Carbonated beverages such as soda
  • Lemonade
  • Instant coffees
  • Powdered sugar
  • Jams and jellies
  • Candies
  • Catsup
  • Chewing gums
  • Sauces
  • White distilled vinegar
  • Monosodium glutamate
  • Baking powder
  • Cake yeast
  • Bleached flour
  • Gelatin capsules

Paper Containers and Plastics That May Contain Corn:

  • Boxes
  • Cups
  • Plates
  • Milk or ice cream cartons
  • Adhesives from envelopes, stickers and stamps
  • Toothpaste
  • Over the counter and prescription medications
  • Laundry starch

Ingredients That May Contain Corn:

  • Acetic acid
  • Alcohol
  • Alpha tocopherol
  • Artificial flavorings
  • Artificial sweeteners
  • Ascorbates
  • Ascorbic acid
  • Aspartame
  • Astaxanthin
  • Baking powder
  • Barley malt
  • Bleached flour
  • Blended sugar
  • Brown sugar
  • Calcium citrate
  • Calcium fumarate
  • Calcium gluconate
  • Calcium lactate
  • Calcium magnesium acetate (CMA)
  • Calcium stearate
  • Calcium stearoyl lactylate
  • Caramel and caramel color
  • Carbonmethylcellulose sodium
  • Cellulose microcrystalline
  • Cellulose, methyl
  • Cellulose, powdered
  • Cetearyl glucoside
  • Choline chloride
  • Citric acid
  • Citrus cloud emulsion (CCS)
  • Coco glycerides (cocoglycerides)
  • Confectioners sugar
  • Crosscarmellose sodium
  • Crystalline dextrose
  • Crystalline fructose
  • Cyclodextrin
  • DATUM (dough conditioner)
  • Decyl glucoside
  • Decyl polyglucose
  • Dextrin
  • Dextrose (also found in IV solutions)
  • d-Gluconic acid
  • Distilled white vinegar
  • Drying agent
  • Erythorbic acid
  • Erythritol
  • Ethanol
  • Ethocel 20
  • Ethylcellulose
  • Ethylene
  • Ethyl acetate
  • Ethyl alcohol
  • Ethyl lactate
  • Ethyl maltol
  • Fibersol-2
  • Flavorings
  • Food starch
  • Fructose
  • Fruit juice concentrate
  • Fumaric acid
  • Germ/germ meal
  • Gluconate
  • Gluconic acid
  • Glucono delta-lactone
  • Gluconolactone
  • Glucosamine
  • Glucose
  • Glucose syrup (also found in IV solutions)
  • Glutamate
  • Gluten
  • Gluten feed/meal
  • Glycerides
  • Glycerin
  • Glycerol
  • Golden syrup
  • Honey
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose
  • Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose pthalate (HPMCP)
  • Inositol
  • Invert syrup or sugar
  • Iodized salt
  • Lactate
  • Lactic acid
  • Lauryl glucoside
  • Lecithin
  • Linoleic acid
  • Lysine
  • Magnesium fumarate
  • Maize
  • Malic acid
  • Malonic acid
  • Malt syrup from corn
  • Malt, malt extract
  • Maltitol
  • Maltodextrin
  • Maltol
  • Maltose
  • Mannitol
  • Methyl gluceth
  • Methyl glucose
  • Methyl glucoside
  • Methylcellulose
  • Microcrystaline cellulose
  • Modified cellulose gum
  • Modified food starch
  • Molasses
  • Mono and di glycerides
  • Monosodium glutamate
  • MSG
  • Natural flavorings
  • Olestra/Olean
  • Polydextrose
  • Polylactic acid (PLA)
  • Polysorbates such as Polysorbate 80
  • Polyvinyl acetate
  • Potassium citrate
  • Potassium fumarate
  • Potassium gluconate
  • Powdered sugar
  • Pregelatinized starch
  • Propionic acid
  • Propylene glycol
  • Propylene glycol monostearate
  • Saccharin
  • Salt
  • Semolina unless made from wheat
  • Simethicone
  • Sodium carboxymethylcellulose
  • Sodium citrate
  • Sodium erythorbate
  • Sodium fumarate
  • Sodium lactate
  • Sodium starch glycolate
  • Sodium stearoyl fumarate
  • Sorbate
  • Sorbic acid
  • Sorbitan
  • Sorbitan monooleate
  • Sorbitan tri-oleate
  • Sorbitol
  • Sorghum
  • Splenda
  • Starch
  • Stearic acid
  • Stearoyls
  • Sucralose
  • Sucrose
  • Sugar
  • Talc
  • Threonine
  • Tocopherol
  • Treacle
  • Triethyl citrate
  • Unmodified starch
  • Vanilla, natural flavoring
  • Vanilla, pure or extract
  • Vanillin
  • Vinegar, distilled white
  • Vinyl acetate
  • Vitamin C
  • Vitamin E
  • Vitamin supplements
  • Xanthan gum
  • Xylitol
  • Yeast

It is essential to work with a nutritionist and an Integrative M.D. because I am sharing general information that is not intended to be medical advice. This information is only given for informational purposes.